Climate change

Click the picture below and watch the video clip from The Daily Show with Jon Stewart. It shows members of the United States House of Representatives Committee on Science, Space And Technology posing ridiculous questions to a scientist concerning climate change. I don’t think it is funny at all – I think it is incredibly scaring. Because it makes me believe that our political systems are not capable of dealing with the crisis we are in.

Soon it will be too late to stop the global warming. The damage will become irreversible, and it will not matter what we do. What if it is already too late? May I be witnessing the beginning of the end of the era of the human race?

Even life in the oceans is now threatened by our greed and our ruthlessness. It really makes me sick.

What is there to do? I have decided to do as best I can, even if I expect to lose. I can support politicians and organisations that are fighting for a change. I blog and I write on Facebook and Twitter. I try to make changes to the way I live. I eat less meat. I choose ecologically produced food. I try to save energy. I try not to buy things that I do not need.

Because I love nature. The earth could have been a paradise – if it hadn’t been for the greed, the fear and the ignorance of humans.

Member of The United States House of Representatives Committee on Science, Space and Technology.
Member of The United States House of Representatives Committee on Science, Space and Technology.
Author: Jan's bulletin board

I live in a part of the world called Norway with my wife and two daughters. I worked as a telecom engineer for 20 years. Nowadays I am attending a helpdesk supporting colleagues with computer problems. I am also a hobby photographer who believe we ought to pay more attention to how we treat our planet and each other. I trust the reports from the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change, and I am disappointed that leading politicians in my own and other countries more or less have been ignoring warnings from the scientists for 20 years.

2 thoughts on “Climate change”

  1. Thank you, Kary. When it comes to this subject, I truly feel that “My desire to be well-informed is currently at odds with my desire to remain sane”. I fear some very ugly scenarios will be taking place among the world’s nations if we are not able to find a good and just and peaceful solution to this crisis in time. And I am afraid there may be less time than we have been counting on till now. I know that sounds pessimistic, but when I listen to – and watch – some politicians…
    In the end I guess we can only try to do the right things and enjoy life as best we can.

    Like

Leave a Reply

