Still cycling to work

For many years, I had to spend three hours a day on a bus. Ninety minutes going to Oslo to work, ninety minutes back home. Sometimes even longer, when the traffic was heavier than normal. That’s why I feel so privileged after moving to Hallingdal, where I can use my bicycle to get to work and back, if the weather is ok. The full distance is 9,2 kilometres, and almost 8 of these are on the road you see on the picture. Going through the woods, no traffic at all. I love it! This picture was taken on my way home last Friday.

Cycling to work on the old road (photo: Jan Nergård)
Cycling to work on the old road (photo: Jan Nergård)

Author: Jan's bulletin board

I live in a part of the world called Norway with my wife and two daughters. I worked as a telecom engineer for 20 years. Nowadays I am attending a helpdesk supporting colleagues with computer problems. I am also a hobby photographer who believe we ought to pay more attention to how we treat our planet and each other. I trust the reports from the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change, and I am disappointed that leading politicians in my own and other countries more or less have been ignoring warnings from the scientists for 20 years.

5 thoughts on “Still cycling to work”

  1. Thank you for commenting, Angie! Cycling is great! I cycled to work all last week, but now it has become November, and that means it is quite dark both when I’m going to work and when I’m going back home, and it has already been down to 6 degrees below zero in the morning. So the cycling season is probably over now for me. I am going to miss the daily trip, it has been a real pleasure. Hopefully, I can pick it up again next spring.

    Like

    1. Thank you, Stonka! Yes I am lucky! Skiing could be possible on the old road when there is enough snow, but I would probably have to carry the skis the last 1,2 kilometres, and I am too lazy for that…
      PS: I like your paintings, by the way 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

