That kind of snow

If you are a man approaching 60 and still find it amusing to play with snow, that isn’t a bad sign, I hope?

snowman2-1336
Having fun in February (photo: Unni NergÄrd)
Author: Jan's bulletin board

I live in a part of the world called Norway with my wife and two daughters. I worked as a telecom engineer for 20 years. Nowadays I am attending a helpdesk supporting colleagues with computer problems. I am also a hobby photographer who believe we ought to pay more attention to how we treat our planet and each other. I trust the reports from the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change, and I am disappointed that leading politicians in my own and other countries more or less have been ignoring warnings from the scientists for 20 years.

9 thoughts on “That kind of snow”

  1. Do not worry, I just turned 60 and it is quite painless and I am all for making snowmen, if we had the snow. Lucky you…looks gorgeous. I think this is a very good, healthy sign. Long may it continue. He has a look of great determination about him…ha ha! I recently posted 2 poems about turning 60…3 Score Years and The Cake. It is though, humour aside, quite a big milestone I found… enjoy being 50 something while you can and the photo is just wonderful. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for your words of comfort, Krystyna! I turned 50 in 2006 and thought it was fun, but for some reason 60 seems a bit unreal. So maybe this snowman-thing is some sort of protest, I don’t know. It was fun, though. Unfortunately, the temperature has risen, and this morning his head had fallen off. That made him look a lot less determined 🙂 I liked your poems a lot, by the way, must be great to be able to write like that.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. So glad I was able to be of some comfort as that big milestone approaches. Indeed yes, 60 still feels unreal to me. what? Me? 60? Never! ..Aaaaaw poor poor snowman, he did look very fetching though. You are too too kind and I thank you for your encouraging words. They really do mean a lot to me as I only started writing on here just under a year ago, and am enjoying painting word pictures. I hope you get lots more lovely snow and picturesque scenery, and at the same time keep warm. You live in a very beautiful part of the world. Best wishes and thanks again. 😊

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Kary! I love the support I get here! I believe the main thing is to be true to oneself and not try to be someone else. Even if that means being childish now and then, and spending time doing ridiculous things like making snowmen 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

